Skip to main content COVID-19 Updates and Information

Past Presidents

Dr. Alva J. McClain


Dr. McClain founded Grace Theological Seminary in 1937. Read how McClain, a college drop-out, became Grace Theological Seminary’s first president and, although sick for most of his life, passionately proclaimed the truth in and out of the classroom.

Read Biography

Dr. Herman A. Hoyt


Grace College & Seminary thrived under Dr. Hoyt’s relentless spirit. During his term, enrollment exploded and multiple facilities were built. His leadership drove significant growth but nothing matched his dedication to the Word of God.

Read Biography

Dr. Homer A. Kent, Jr.


Under the quiet leadership of Dr. Kent, Grace College & Seminary continued to grow, maintaining sound financial footing and equipping students to answer God’s calling—no matter the direction.

Read Biography

Dr. John J. Davis


Dr. Davis’ leadership saw Grace College & Seminary through one of its toughest decades. Read how his commitment to Grace’s mission and his multiple giftings made him the right man for the job.

Read Biography

Dr. Ronald E. Manahan


Dr. Ron Manahan (M.Div. 1970, Th.M. 1977, Th.D. 1982) faithfully served Grace College & Seminary as its president for 20 years. From the chair of a department in 1977 to president of the institution in 1994, Manahan never dreamed his tenure here would be so long or so fruitful. Read how God used Manahan’s gentle spirit, courageous heart and brilliant mind to bring stability and growth to Grace.

Read Biography